Federal, regional, unitary state... Political structures in Europe

The structure of states, which distributes the exercise of political power over their national territories, varies greatly from one European country to another. While there is a general trend towards decentralisation, federal models remain the exception within the Union.

Read more

France/"Elected officials, managers and public servants must be trained in the ecological transition"

In an article, Sébastien Maire, delegate of France Ville durable, expresses himself on the need to train managers, agents and elected officials on the challenges of the ecological transition.

Read more

Education: Teaching children in the language they know and speak helps them learn, says World Bank

According to the global report "Learning to Achieve the Promise of Education", millions of children around the world struggle to learn in school. Among them, 53% of children in low- and middle-income countries are unable to read and understand simple text by the age of 10. This learning poverty is due, according to a new World Bank report, to the fact that they are being taught in a language they do not know or speak. This lack of understanding of the language of instruction leads to higher dropout rates, high repetition rates and lower overall learning achievement, the report says.

Read more

France/Paris is twinned with only one city, Rome

"Solo Parigi è degna di Roma, solo Roma è degna di Parigi" (Only Paris is worthy of Rome; only Rome is worthy of Paris). This is the motto of the twinning between the two cities. Explanations.

Read more

THE LESSON FROM SOUTH AFRICA'' Column by Emmanuel ARGO

On July 14, France, the country of human rights, commemorated the major event that would initiate our republic. During the concert that preceded the fireworks, the South African singer Pretty Yendi sang the most famous opera arias. At the same time, looting and riots with victims - more than 117 to date - were spreading in South Africa, undermining the fragile peace that Nelson Mandela liked to encourage when he said: "Together we stand, divided we fall", and succeeded in building on the rubble of a past bloodied by the violence of apartheid.

Read more

France/Three financial tools to know: to develop local communities

Here are three financial tools to know, intended to help local authorities to develop. These grants are called the Local Investment Support Grant (DSIL), the Rural Territories Equipment Grant (DETR) and the National Fund for Territorial Development (FNADT). These three State mechanisms regularly contribute to supporting projects in the territories. Still not well known, they are aimed primarily at municipalities, mixed unions and public establishments of inter-communal cooperation.

Read more

France/Impact of the health crisis on local authorities

Even if their debt increased by 5.3 billion euros in 2020, local authorities have resisted the crisis rather well, says the Court of Auditors in a report published on Wednesday 30 June. However, this report hides heterogeneous situations.

Read more

Cameroon/ A mobile home to allow young people to have fun

After living for many years in France, Déborah Item has launched her own multifunctional mobile home. Currently living in Denmark, the woman from Cameroon wants to follow through with her initiative by making herself useful to her population.

Read more

France/Local authorities: conquering major sports events

The Tour de France in Brittany is a major event for the municipalities it passes through, which expect positive spin-offs. The same fervour can be observed with the prospect of France hosting the Olympic Games in 2024.

Read more

France/Citizens and communities on the road to sustainable development

Getting involved in sustainable development in your city is becoming easier and easier thanks to the increasing number of citizen tools... And this is a good thing since the transition also relies on local actors (local authorities, associations, companies, citizens...). So how can you make the lines move in your city?

Read more

France/Covid school dropouts: the essential role of local missions and communities

Every year 60,000 minors leave the school system without qualifications and find themselves without training or employment. Those involved in professional integration fear that this figure will rise because of the health crisis.

Read more

France/Digital archiving, the great challenge for local authorities

In the era of dematerialization, the issue of archiving in communities creates new challenges for agents and organizations. What processes to put in place? What tools to use? How to protect electronic archives? Two experts answered your questions during the 4th Assises de la dématérialisation, organised by La Gazette des communes.

Read more

Opting for broader interregional cooperation

The consequences of the Covid 19 pandemic on the slowdown of international trade encourage us to look at the synergy of regional potential and inter-regional cooperation as possible solutions for a balanced economic and societal development of our territories.

Read more

France/To bring back the tourists, some departments bet on discounts or vouchers

Somme, Haute-Garonne, Drôme... Some departments offer to reimburse part of the cost of accommodation or offer vouchers valid in local restaurants to boost tourist numbers. Tour de France.

Read more

Africa/Local authorities: Africans rethink the cultural economy

The Institute of African Studies of Mohammed V University in Rabat in partnership with United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) of Africa, an organization representing local authorities in Africa, organized on Tuesday, May 25, 2021, a seminar on the occasion of the celebration of Africa Day, under the theme: "Cultural and Creative Economy, a lever for sustainable development".

Read more

France/Covid-19: Lack of anticipation the main challenge for local authorities, according to a study

Lack of foresight and anticipation in the face of an unprecedented situation and lack of protective equipment were the main challenges for local authorities during the first containment due to the Covid outbreak, according to a study on the impact of the crisis.

Read more

Working together, a methodology of action at the service of all

Two years ago, GRET initiated a reflection to develop and formulate a "commons approach" aimed at supporting local actors in the construction of shared governance methods. Here is a look back at an enriching collective experience.

Read more

France/Reopening of cultural venues, a general and progressive system

From Wednesday 19 May, all cultural venues will be able to reopen their doors to the public. Here is an update on the system.

Read more

Togo: New tax revenue distribution key in the era of decentralization

The Togolese government has adopted by decree, a distribution key of tax revenues and service revenues among its various local authorities.

Read more

France/Interactions of agricultural models: towards a new vision of territorial development

How do the different agricultural models interact with each other? What is the impact of these interactions on territorial development? These are the central questions of Coexistence and confrontation of agricultural and food models, a new paradigm of territorial development? In this book written by several authors, specialists in food systems and territorial evolution invite us to observe territorial development from another angle and to invent more sustainable governance. This is an important point of view in the run-up to the United Nations Summit on Food Systems in September.

Read more
Sponsored content

Etat fédéral, régional, unitaire… Les structures politiques en Europe

La structure des Etats, qui répartit l’exercice du pouvoir politique sur leurs territoires nationaux, varie grandement d’un pays européen à l’autre. Si l’on observe une tendance générale à la décentralisation, les modèles fédéraux restent toutefois l’exception au sein de l’Union.

Lire la suite

France/« Il faut former les élus, cadres et agents publics à la transition écologique »

Dans une tribune, Sébastien Maire, délégué de France Ville durable s'exprime sur la nécessité de former les cadres, les agents et les élus aux enjeux de la transition écologique.

Lire la suite

Education : Enseigner les enfants dans la langue qu’ils connaissent et parlent facilite leur apprentissage, selon la Banque mondiale

Selon le rapport mondial "Apprendre à réaliser la promesse éducative", des millions d’enfants dans le monde peinent à apprendre à l’école. Parmi eux, 53% des enfants des pays à revenu faible ou intermédiaire sont incapables de lire et de comprendre un texte simple à l’âge de 10 ans. Cette pauvreté d’apprentissage est due, selon un nouveau rapport de la Banque mondiale, au fait qu’ils reçoivent un enseignement dans une langue qu’ils ne connaissent pas et ne parlent pas. Ce manque de compréhension de la langue utilisée pour l’enseignement engendre des taux d’abandon scolaire plus élevés, beaucoup de redoublement et une baisse des apprentissages de façon générale, révèle le rapport.

Lire la suite

France/Paris n’est jumelée qu’avec une seule ville, Rome

« Solo Parigi è degna di Roma, solo Roma è degna di Parigi » (Seule Paris est digne de Rome ; seule Rome est digne de Paris). Telle et la devise du jumelage entre les deux villes. Explications.

Lire la suite

France/ Cabinet médical, subventions, coworking... comment les collectivités espèrent attirer les urbains

On les croyait ringardes, elles tiennent leur revanche ! Pour attirer les urbains rincés par les confinements, les petites villes rivalisent de mesures efficaces.

Lire la suite

France/Améliorer durablement la situation économique des territoires les plus fragiles

Au-delà de la sortie de crise, il faudrait accélérer la reprise dans les territoires les plus fragilisés, selon un rapport du député des Yvelines, Jean-Noël Barrot. La politique de zonage pourrait être revue et les collectivités volontaires bénéficieraient d’un « accompagnement renforcé » temporaire par les pouvoirs publics.

Lire la suite

France/Agir en commun pour maintenir une ruralité vivante

La mutation vers des territoires attractifs, intelligents et humains, n’est pas l’apanage des seules grandes villes et leurs territoires urbains. Les zones rurales françaises ont aussi leur mot à dire. C’est dans cet esprit que le ministère de la Cohésion des territoires et des Relations avec les collectivités territoriales, l’Agence nationale de la cohésion des territoires (ANCT) et Chambres d’agriculture France (APCA) ont récemment signé un partenariat afin de mettre en place un programme spécifique aux petites villes rurales et leurs territoires.

Lire la suite

''LA LEÇON QUI NOUS VIENT D'AFRIQUE DU SUD'' Chronique d'Emmanuel ARGO

Le 14 juillet dernier, la France, pays des droits de l’homme, a commémoré l’événement majeur qui initierait notre république. Lors du concert qui a précédé le feu d’artifice, la cantatrice sud-africaine, Pretty Yendi a chanté les plus célèbres airs d’opéra. Au même moment, pillages et émeutes faisant des victimes – plus de 117 à ce jour – se propageaient en Afrique du Sud mettant à mal une paix bien fragile, cette paix que Nelson Mandela, aimait à encourager en disant : ‘‘Together we stand, divided we fall’’, et réussi à construire sur les décombres d’un passé ensanglanté par les violences de l’apartheid.

Lire la suite

France/Trois outils financiers à connaître : pour développer les collectivités locales

Voici trois outils financiers à connaître, destinés à aider les collectivités locales à se développer. Ces subventions ont pour nom la Dotation de Soutien à l’Investissement Local (DSIL), la Dotation d’Equipement des Territoires Ruraux (DETR) et le Fonds National d’Aménagement et de Développement des Territoires (FNADT). Régulièrement, ces trois dispositifs d’Etat contribuent à soutenir des projets dans les territoires. Encore mal connus, ils s’adressent en priorité aux communes, aux syndicats mixtes et aux Établissements Publics de Coopération Intercommunale.

Lire la suite

France/L'impact de la crise sanitaire sur les collectivités locales

Même si leur dette a augmenté de 5,3 milliards d’euros en 2020, les collectivités locales ont plutôt bien résisté à la crise, indique la Cour des comptes dans un rapport publié ce mercredi 30 juin. Un bilan qui cache toutefois des situations hétérogènes.

Lire la suite

Cameroun/Un mobilhome pour permettre aux jeunes de se divertir

Après avoir vécu pendant de longues années en France, Déborah Item a lancé son propre mobilhome multifonctions. Résidant actuellement au Danemark, la femme originaire du Cameroun veut aller au bout de son initiative en se rendant utile à sa population.

Lire la suite

France/Élus locaux : les collectivités à la conquête des grands événements sportifs

Le Tour de France en Bretagne est un événement majeur pour les communes traversées qui en attendent des retombées positives. La même ferveur est observée avec la perspective de l’accueil des Jeux Olympiques en 2024 en France.

Lire la suite

France/Citoyens et collectivités sur la voie du développement durable

S’engager en faveur du développement durable dans sa ville est de plus en plus facile grâce aux outils citoyens qui se multiplient… Et c’est une bonne chose puisque la transition repose aussi sur les acteurs territoriaux (collectivités locales, associations, entreprises, citoyens…). Alors comment faire bouger les lignes dans votre ville ?

Lire la suite

France/Décrocheurs scolaires du Covid : le rôle essentiel des missions locales et des collectivités

Chaque année 60.000 mineurs quittent le système scolaire sans qualification et se retrouvent sans formation, ni emploi. Les acteurs de l’insertion professionnelle redoutent que ce chiffre n’explose à cause de la crise sanitaire.

Lire la suite

France/L’archivage numérique, le grand défi des collectivités

A l'heure de la dématérialisation, la question de l'archivage dans les collectivités crée de nouveaux défis aux agents et aux organisations. Quels processus mettre en place ? Quels outils utiliser ? Comment protéger ses archives électroniques ? Deux experts ont répondu à vos interrogations lors des 4es Assises de la dématérialisation, organisées par La Gazette des communes.

Lire la suite

Opter pour une coopération interrégionale élargie

Les conséquences de la pandémie du Covid 19 sur le ralentissement des échanges internationaux nous incitent à porter un regard sur la mise en synergie des potentialités régionales et de coopération inter-régionale comme solutions possibles pour un développement économique et sociétal équilibré de nos territoires.

Lire la suite

France/Pour faire revenir les touristes, des départements misent sur des réductions ou des bons d'achat

Somme, Haute-Garonne, Drôme... Des départements proposent de rembourser une partie de l'hébergement ou offrent des bons valables dans les restaurants locaux pour doper la fréquentation touristique. Tour de France.

Lire la suite

Afrique/Collectivités locales : les Africains repensent à l’économie culturelle

L'Institut des études africaines de l’université Mohammed V à Rabat en partenariat avec Cités et gouvernements locaux unis (Cglu) d’Afrique, une organisation représentant les collectivités territoriales d’Afrique a organisé, le mardi 25 mai 2021, un séminaire à l’occasion de la célébration de la Journée de l’Afrique, sous le thème : « Economie culturelle et créative, levier de développement durable ».

Lire la suite

France/Covid-19 : le manque d’anticipation, principal défi pour les collectivités locales, selon une étude

Le manque de recul et d’anticipation face à une situation inédite et le défaut d’équipement de protection ont été les principaux défis pour les collectivités locales durant le premier confinement dû à l’épidémie de Covid, selon une étude sur l’impact de la crise.

Lire la suite

Faire commun, une méthodologie d'action au service de tou·te·s

Il y a deux ans, le Gret engageait une réflexion pour développer et formuler une « approche par les communs » visant à accompagner les acteurs locaux dans la construction de modes de gouvernance partagée. Retour sur une expérience collective enrichissante.

Lire la suite
Contenu sponsorisé